The W. P. Carey Teaching & Learning program honors faculty

As the 2019-2020 academic year concludes, the W. P. Carey Teaching & Learning program honors faculty for outstanding contributions in higher education.

This year, the school took several steps under the leadership of Dean Amy Hillman and Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning, Dan Gruber, to focus on W. P. Carey’s commitment to teaching and learning in order to meet university-wide goals for enrollment, retention, and excellence. Gruber chairs a group of Teaching Leads with representatives from all eight academic areas across the school, who collaborate on workshops and other teaching-related initiatives to maximize the impact.

In addition to these learning resources for W. P. Carey faculty, the Teaching & Learning program has added three new teaching awards to enhance the school’s vision to “rethink the nature of business, engage the world, and create a better future’ and its mission of “educating tomorrow’s business leaders, taking an entrepreneurial approach to learning, and conducting groundbreaking research, in order to create positive change on a global scale.”

The revamped awards process was driven by an intention to honor the breadth and depth of teaching excellence at W. P. Carey and informed by the evolution of teaching and teaching awards at the W. P. Carey School of Business, the academic research on the impact of teaching awards on culture and strategy, and how other top business schools approach these types of awards. Faculty were nominated by their colleagues and then asked to submit an overview of their classroom approaches for consideration along with their teaching evaluations from the past year. 

The first new award is the ‘Entrepreneurial Approach to Learning’ Teaching Innovation Award,which is designed to recognize and honor specific examples that model this entrepreneurial approach to academic innovation. Honorees include Bart Hobijn (Economics), and Melissa Samuelson (Accounting). 

 The second is the ‘Business is Personal’ Inclusive Teaching Award, which is designed to recognize and honor specific examples of teaching that model an inclusive approach to teaching and learning. Honorees include Matt Sopha (Information Systems) and Kelvin Wong (Economics). This new award was designed in collaboration with Senior Associate Dean for Students, Kay Faris.

The third is the ‘Rethinking Business Education’ Outstanding Online Teaching Award, which to recognize and honor faculty who have brought an extraordinary level of excellence to transforming business education via the creation of new online courses as well as new approaches to revamping and elevating existing online courses. Honorees include Kate Eaton (Marketing) and Jeffrey Englin (Agribusiness). 

Gruber collaboratively led the design of the new awards with the Teaching Leads, and in partnership with the academic chairs and directors, and other W. P. Carey leaders. Gruber shares that the W. P. Carey School of Business is proud to honor these outstanding faculty members both as the 2019-2020 year finishes and as the 2020-21 academic year kicks off. Winning faculty were recognized in a message to all employees and there are plans to celebrate them in-person at the Fall Faculty Assembly in September. “It is inspiring and exciting to see how their contributions to teaching and learning align with the mission and vision of the business school and the greater world of business.”

The school also celebrates the Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Teacher Awardees, John Dietrich (Marketing) and Robert Wiedmer (Supply Chain Management); the winner of the Huizingh Outstanding Undergraduate Service to Students Award, Adegoke Oke (Supply Chain Management); and the winners of the Outstanding Graduate Teacher Award, Donald Goldman (Accountancy), Donald Lange (Management and Entrepreneurship), and Margaret Luciano (Management and Entrepreneurship).

The Dean’s List for Teaching Impact, which highlights a larger group of faculty who have been recognized by their faculty peers for teaching excellence, is also a new addition to the teaching awards lineup. Dean's List honorees include the finalists for the six teaching awards who have shared summaries of their teaching practices, which will be used for faculty onboarding and development. Visit our Faculty Awards page for the full list of faculty awards, including the student-nominated John W. Teets Outstanding Teaching awards, and Dean’s List honorees, or learn more about specific faculty using the W. P. Carey directory

B-school tips

Learn more about top-ranked programs from ASU's W. P. Carey programs and get tips to help you succeed.

Request info