The 2024 Faculty Hall of Fame inductees accept their awards.

W. P. Carey celebrates Faculty Hall of Fame inductees

The business school honored three emeritus faculty for their research, teaching, and service achievements.

Molly Loonam

On March 28, W. P. Carey leadership, faculty, and staff gathered to celebrate at this year's Faculty Hall of Fame and Emeritus Luncheon. The event honored inductees for their academic achievements, research, service to the field, and teaching accomplishments. W. P. Carey has inducted 90 faculty members since 1977.

Ohad Kadan, Charles J. Robel Dean of the W. P. Carey School of Business; Amy Ostrom, vice dean and President's Professor; and Gopalakrishnan Mohan, senior associate dean of faculty, awarded the honors on two 2024 nominees and one 2023 nominee. Kadan began the event by welcoming the emeritus faculty and sharing business school updates, including the newly launched Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence in Business (MS-AIB).

"We stand on the shoulders of giants. As the largest business school in the country, and one of the best, we can only say those things because of the work and accomplishments of the many people in the room today," said Kadan. "Thank you for the work on which we have been able to build and for still being here and engaging with us today."

All three inductees reminisced on their careers at W. P. Carey after receiving their Faculty Hall of Fame awards.

"My wife and I came to Tempe in 1979, and let me tell you — it did not look like this!" said Emeritus Professor of Economics Arthur Blakemore upon receiving the award. "I am so proud to be a part of ASU and what it has become."

Please join the W. P. Carey School of Business in celebrating these esteemed Faculty Hall of Fame inductees.

2023 Inductee
Gerry Keim, emeritus professor of management and entrepreneurship, joined ASU in 2001 as a professor of management and served the school in many capacities until his retirement in 2019. Keim's research focused on the intersection between business and government. Throughout his career, Keim has published articles in top management and political science journals, and his research has been cited approximately 12,000 times, according to Google Scholar. His research has won several prestigious awards, including the Journal of Management's Best Paper Award (2009) and the International Association of Business and Society's Best Paper Award (2007).

As one of the business school's most talented and demanding instructors, Keim taught in nearly every W. P. Carey graduate program and excelled in the school's full-time MBA program. He was the sole recipient of the prestigious John W. Teets Award for Outstanding Graduate Teacher in the W. P. Carey School of Business in 2004.

Keim held several leadership positions within W. P. Carey during his 18 years at ASU, including associate dean for MBA programs from 2004 to 2009, associate dean for international programs from 2009 to 2012, Department of Management chair from 2010 to 2014, and Executive MBA faculty chair from 2014 to 2019. In these roles, Keim was instrumental in noteworthy gains for the programs he administered. For example, while serving as associate dean for MBA programs, the W. P. Carey full-time MBA program went from unranked by U.S. News & World Report to ranked No. 22 in 2008.

2024 inductees
Arthur Blakemore joined W. P. Carey's Department of Economics as an assistant professor in 1979 after serving on the Council of Economic Advisors in the Executive Office of the President. His research focused on labor, human capital economics, and productivity analysis; premier journals, including the American Economic Review, have published his work. Blakemore has twice been honored with the Department of Economics's Teacher of the Year award.

Blakemore earned full professor in 1990 and had two visiting professorships at the Australian National University in 1989 and at the London School of Economics in 1993. Blakemore served as Department of Economics chair from 1994 to 2014, during which the department grew in size and importance. He was instrumental in hiring the late Regents Professor Edward Prescott — who received the Nobel Prize in Economics a year after joining ASU — and was involved in naming the W. P. Carey School of Business in 2003.

Blakemore chaired the Department of Economics from 2006 to 2014 and served as vice provost from 2006 until his retirement in 2022.

Thomas Callarman (MBA '74), associate professor emeritus of supply chain management, joined ASU as an assistant professor of management in 1980. He retired in 2007.

Callarman was a founding faculty member of the Purchasing, Transportation, and Operations Department and spent time in the Decision and Information Systems Department and the Department of Supply Chain Management. He was also a visiting faculty member at the Assumption University of Thailand, Seoul National University School of Business, and the Macquarie Graduate School of Management in Sydney, Australia.

While at ASU, Callarman served on multiple committees at the department, college, and university levels. He served in the Faculty Senate and was president of the Faculty Senate and Assembly from 1996 to 1997. He was one of three ASU faculty members who wrote the Post Tenure Review Policy for ASU, Northern Arizona University, and the University of Arizona.

Callarman served as associate dean for Student Support Services of the Graduate College from 1998 to 2000, where he was responsible for recruiting, admissions, and funding, including scholarships and loans. He was co-director of the Preparing Future Faculty Program and developed the Preparing Future Professionals Program. Callarman left the Graduate College in 2000 to become the director of the Institute for Manufacturing Enterprise Systems. Callarman served as a co-principal investigator on several research proposals that resulted in several hundred thousand dollars in funding from companies including Intel, IBM, and the National Science Foundation. He was the co-principal investigator of the proposal to the Prop 301 Manufacturing Initiative of the State of Arizona, which resulted in $3.7 million for the university.

Callarman founded the American Production and Inventory Control Society (APICS) student chapter and encouraged students to become members of APICS and the Institute for Supply Management. He is an APICS Certified Production and Inventory Manager at the Fellow level.

Please join us once more in celebrating these remarkable scholars for their induction into the W. P. Carey Faculty Hall of Fame. Their achievements embody the excellence of the W. P. Carey School of Business.

Latest news